Primary Workers' Compensation responsibilities include:
- Pay timely medical, surgical, hospital and disability benefits as provided by law under the Arizona Workers' Compensation Act
- Evaluate and initiate cost containment programs
- Coordinate statewide Return-to-Work Programs
- Pursue recoveries from parties contributing to or causing injury to covered persons
Who Is Covered?
Workers' Compensation benefits are provided pursuant to Title 23 of the Arizona Revised Statutes
. State employees cannot reject workers' compensation. This coverage is the exclusive remedy for state employees injured in the course and scope of their employment. The following individuals are entitled to workers' compensation coverage:
- Volunteers specifically referenced in A.R.S. Section 23-901
- Employees of Superior Courts of all Arizona counties except Maricopa
Questions concerning who is covered should be directed to the Insurance Department at Risk Management at (602) 542-5185.
To report an Industrial Injury call (800)837-8583
Injuries requiring medical treatment may also be reported to Risk Management through the Early Notification telephone line by dialing (800) 837-8583.
Any fatality must be reported immediately to the state OSHA Office and Risk Management.
An injured worker should complete the top portion of the "Worker's & Physicians Report of Industry (form 102)" made available by the initial provider of medical treatment. The medical provider is also required by law to file a copy of the form with the Industrial Commission and Risk Management.
Wage loss benefits are payable at 66 2/3% of the injured worker's gross monthly salary, up to the maximum as set by the Legislature, per month, and is payable every 14 or 30 days, depending on the type of disability. No wage loss benefit is payable for the first 7 days, if total time lost is less than 13 calendar days. This waiting period occurs only once during a claim. If a claim has been accepted, authorized medical treatment is paid pursuant to the Arizona Fee Schedule with no out-of-pocket expenses on behalf of the employee.
If An Employee Is Injured
- Attend to the injured worker immediately and arrange for necessary medical attention. If the injury is serious, call 911.
- Call the Early Notification phone line at (800) 837-8583.
- Accompany the injured worker to the doctor if he/she is unable to drive.
- Obtain information about the incident or injury and fill out the agency specified report of injury form.
- List and interview all witnesses.
- Examine the area of the accident, and secure any equipment, machines or vehicles, etc., for investigation and recovery purposes.
- If there is any reason to doubt the validity of a claim, provide information to Risk Management.
- If information disproving the validity of a claim or the extent of the injury is discovered at a later date, report it immediately to Risk Management.
- Maintain contact with the injured worker.
- Contact Risk Management at 602-542-5218 or email with any questions.
- Always look for ways to prevent this and other incidents from happening and advise your loss prevention coordinator.
When An Employee Returns To Work
- Request a doctor's release before permitting a return to work.
- Contact Risk Management at 602-542-5218 or email with the date the employee is to return. This is to prevent potential overpayment of benefits.
- If the employee is released to modified work duties, review any limitations with the employee. Make certain you have specific work limitations from the employee's physician.
- Be sure to review the agency modified duty policy. A copy can be obtained from the Human Resource division of your agency.
- If you have any questions regarding limitations, accommodations, or the employee's work schedule, call Risk Management at 602-542-5218.